New Releases: January 11th, 2019 – Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Soilwork, Jinjer + More

jinjer micro

Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Soilwork, Jinjer + More

Here are some new releases that are coming out today.

Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Bird Box (Abridged) (Original Score)

This is an abridged version of the full 66 minute Bird Box, which you can pick up digitally from the Nine Inch Nails website, or you can wait a few weeks until it is available on streaming services. Ross & Reznor have worked on twelve soundtracks over the years, including the upcoming release Waves.

They have been racking up accolades for their scores, not only from critics and fans but prestigious awards like the Golden Globes, Academy Awards, and Grammys. Reznor has stated that a physical version of the soundtrack should be available in the spring, and may contain plenty of material not included in the digital format, as he and Ross composed a considerable amount of material that was not present in the film.

Soilwork – Verkligheten

I can’t help but think that Bjorn “Speed” Strid’s success in The Night Flight Orchestra (TNFO) has helped shape his approach on Verkligheten. He’s been the constant driving force behind Soilwork, and as others have come and gone from the band, he’s still been there to steer the ship.

Although this is definitely a metal album, and he mixes in some of his harsher vocals from the past, but TNFO has released two albums since 2015’s The Majestic, and there is definitely a mellower side to Speed’s vocals on this album. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but we all know how the purists react to these types of changes.

I for one have been along for the ride since 2005’s Stabbing The Drama, and have enjoyed every release since. Seeing Soilwork attached to a release has been synonymous with quality in my opinion, and so far this album has not let me down. Verkligheten also marks the debut of Bastian Thusgaard on drums, after the departure of longtime drummer Dirk Verbeuren for Megadeth.

Jinjer – Micro

Mark Strigl caught up with Tatiana Shmailyuk & Eugene Abdiukhanov of the band while at Heavy Montreal, you can check that interview out here: Talking Metal episode 769. The band is working on a full-length follow-up to 2016’s King Of Everything, but in the meantime had to urge to write some new material that Abdiukhanov has claimed to be “a monster”, thus Mirco EP.

The band has been on tour with Amorphis and Soilwork since late last year, and kick off their European tour today.  The band will continue to tour up until the spring when they headline their own tour of South Africa.

Here are some other releases that may interest you, including a bunch of vinyl reissues:

At The Gates – The Mirror Black (7″)

At The Gates – With The Pantheons Blind (Digital)

Biohazard – State Of The World Address (Vinyl)

Earth Crisis – All Out War/Firestorm (Vinyl)

Snapcase – Designs For Automotion (Vinyl)

Snapcase – Lookinglasself (Vinyl)

Article by Victor M. Ruiz of Mars Attacks Radio & Podcast, and Galaxy Of Geeks Podcast.  Connect with him on Twitter:  @vmr907