New Releases: February 8th, 2019 – Herman Frank, Beast In Black, Rosy Vista + More

Herman Frank

Herman Frank, Beast In Black, Rosy Vista + More

Here are some of the albums that come out today:

Herman Frank – Fight the Fear

This is an album that I was looking forward to checking out as soon as it was announced. The previous solo release by Herman The Devil Rides Out was a sleeper and really caught me off guard. Much like the previous album, Herman has put together what you could deem an all-star lineup of German musicians, Masterplan lead singer Rick Altzi, former Rage drummer André Hilgers, Jaded Heart bassist Michael Müller, and guitarist Heiko Schröder. If you love any of Herman’s work in Accept, Victory, Panzer, or his solo work, this is one you’ll need to check out.

Beast in Black – From Hell With Love

What happens when you mix modern metal production, with symphonic stylings, a dash of power metal, and throw in the pop sensibility of ABBA? Well, you get Finland’s Beat In Black. The band’s second album doesn’t fall far from 2017’s Berserker, it is full of sing-along choruses that get stuck in your head for days.

The band was formed by guitarist Anton Kabanen after leaving Battle Beast, the band is his vision of metal, crossing over various aspects of Scandinavian music that have become popular over the years, with lyrics that are heavily influenced by Japanese Manga.

Rosy Vista – Unbelievable

Billed as Germany’s first hard rock band, Rosy Vista was around from 84 to 89, and at the time had only released one EP. Fast forward 30 years, the band is back, releasing their first full length.

There is nothing to hide here, if you’re a fan of the lighter side of 80s hard rock, you’ll love this album, as it is pure unadulterated AOR. Eleven tracks, that consist of ten originals, and a cover of the Steppenwolf classic “Born To Be Wild”.

Other releases that may interest you:

August Burns Red – Phantom Sessions EP

Bob Mould – Sunshine Rock

Def Leppard – The Story So Far: The Best Of Def Leppard (Vinyl)

Downfall of Gaia – Ethic of Radical Finitude

Jerry Cantrell – Degradation Trip Volumes 1 & 2 (Vinyl)

John Diva & The Rockets of Love – Mama Said Rock Is Dead

LCD Soundsystem – Electric Lady Sessions

The Lemonheads – Varshons 2

Mercury Rev – The Delta Sweete Revisted

Prince – 3121 (Vinyl Reissue)

Prince – Musicology (Vinyl Reissue)

Prince – Planet Earth (Vinyl Reissue)

Zao – Decoding The Möbius Strip (Digital)

Article by Victor M. Ruiz of Mars Attacks Radio & Podcast, and Galaxy Of Geeks Podcast.  Connect with him on Twitter:  @vmr907