New Releases : August 14th, 2020 – King Buzzo, Biffy Clyro

King Buzzo Gift Of Sacrifice


King Buzzo – Gift Of Sacrifice

On this seven song acoustic album The Melvins’ King Buzzo teams up with Trevor Dunn of Mr. Bungle fame. Three of seven tracks are actually instrumental. Fans of either artist will no doubt check this album out.

Here is King Buzzo with Trevor Dunn performing “Science In Modern America”

Biffy Clyro – A Celebration Of Endings

The Scottish alternative rock band is one of the biggest acts in Europe, headlining massive festivals all over the old continent. Their music has been compared to everyone from Nirvana to Muse. Over the years they have evolved quite a bit, sounding more like the Seattle grunge band initially. In recent years they have transitioned into more of a pop-rock band, much like the Matt Bellamy fronted band.

The band’s ninth studio album is a little bit of everything, ballads, songs that are tailor made for festivals, pop anthems, etc. Like most albums by bands that have changed so much over the years certain fans will love A Celebration Of Endings, and some of the more die-hard, old school fans will not.

Check out the ballady “Space” off of A Celebration Of Endings by Biffy Clyro:

Primitive Man – Immersion
Very few labels have been proponents of Doom Metal like Relapse. What Primitive Man offers is more of Crossover Doom, if that’s even a thing. They’re mixing up doom and sludge while throwing in ingredients from post-hardcore, noise and death metal to create their brand of metal. This album is made to arouse certain feelings, specifically uncomfortable terror. It is definitely not for anyone that isn’t into this form of extreme metal, or can’t come into the album with out open mind.

Check out the video for the track “Menacing” by Primitive Man off of Immersion:


Halestorm – Reimagined EP
The title of this EP says it all, it is songs from throughout the band’s career Reimagined. The album includes a cover of the Dolly Parton classic “I Will Always Love You” made uber-popular by Whitney Houston and the Bodyguard Soundtrack. It also includes a duet with Amy Lee of Evanescence on the track “Break In”.

Here’s the Reimagined version of “Break In” by Halestorm featuring Amy Lee.

Poppy – I Disagree (More)
This is a the rerelease of the album I Disagree which came out in January of this year. You can read my comments on the album here. The reissue contains a bunch of unreleased track that did not appear on the original release. For example, the track “Khaos x4”. If kind of sounds like Babymetal, but like I’ve said in the past having Poppy and Babymetal trying to promote metal in 2020 is a good thing. Any artist that wants to go out and shine a light on this music we all love is only helping our cause.

Here’s Poppy with “Khaos x4”:

Chastain – For Those Who Dare 30th Anniversary Reissue

Into Eternity – Into Eternity Reissue

Into Eternity – The Incurable Tragedy Reissue

Creedence Clearwater Revival – Cosmo’s Factory 50th Anniversary Reissue


David Bowie – Something In The Air (Live Paris 99)

Here’s a new Bowie live album. It was recorded during the Hours album cycle, and features Helmet’s Page Hamilton on guitar. It contains twelve unreleased live recordings and tracks that were previously released as B-sides to singles off of Hours. This was taken from his performance at Elysee Montmartre on 14th, 1999, and is one of seven full shows he performed when promoting the album.

Here’s the track Something In The Air by David Bowie:

Kamelot – I Am The Empire – Live From The 013 CD/DVD

Article by Victor M. Ruiz of Mars Attacks Radio & Podcast, and Galaxy Of Geeks Podcast.  Connect with him on Twitter:  @vmr907